an electronic mix of 80s synth

Archive for December, 2010



Pet shop boys – introspective

Hello and welcome back – In the late 80s i was lucky enough to go to World Expo 88 in Brisbane Australia… I had just turned 18 so i thought i would go to a nightclub and remember walking in to a packed room with the pet shop boys playing “always on my mind”. The sound was amazing…
Introspective was let loose in 1988 and is mainly various song that had a dance feel to them.. There is only 6 songs but sometimes as in this case its enough to not get bored as each song goes for 6 – 8 minutes. The album had hits like “left to my own devices” and “domino dancing”.My favorite song would have to be “always on my mind” with its sweeping synths and throbbing beats its best played LOUD
Track lists are =
 1 = left to my own devices

2 = i want a dog

3 = domino dancing

4 = i’m not scared

5 = always on my mind

6 = its alright

AAHHHH… I miss my nightclubbing days CLICK HERE to download album …. enjoy

The Twins – A wild romance

Hello and welcome back … No this band is not the Thompson twins, this band is from Germany. I first heard this band when i borrowed this cassette from the library and is one of my most loved for classic synth bands.There are no twins in the band but came up with the name for 2 people in a band ( confused ? ).The album “a wild romance” was released in 1983 and had hits like “love system” and “not the loving kind”. my favourite has to be “men of destiny” with its sweeping synths and funky electric drums. Pure Bliss
Track listings are =
 1 = love system

2 =ballet dancer

3 =a wild romance

4 = private eye ( live ) not on album

5 = facts of love ( live )

6 = criminal love

 7 = not the loving kind

8 = must have her back

9 = why don’t you

10 = men of destiny

11 = between the woman and you

They sound pretty good live, don’t you think… CLICK HERE to download album… enjoy

Dead or alive – youthquake

Hello and greetings… Another of my favorite band of the 80s was “Dead or Alive”. Before i got my car license i used to walk everywhere and i had brought a aiwa Walkman ( almost sounded as good as a cd ) and one of my favorite tapes was this album… The quality of the recording is excellent with good bass and crisp highs ( i think it was recorded on chrome ).
Formed by stock aitken waterman this was there first group to hit number 1 after it was released in march 1985.. “spin me round” (like a record )  was a huge song along with my “my heart goes bang”  and they have a huge following in japan.. my favorite song would have to be “big daddy of the rhythm” with its electric synths and smooth vocals it one of the best ( sounding )albums of the 80s.

 Track listings are  =             1 = you spin me round ( like a record )

                                            2 = i wanna be a toy

                                            3 = d.j. hit that button

                                            4 = in too deep

                                            5 = big daddy of the rhythm

                                            6 = cake and eat it

                                            7 = lover come back to me

                                            8 = my heart goes bang

                                            9 = its been a long time

YAY… i found a way of putting videos on my page …everyday learning.. to download album click here …. do not forget you will need rar frog to decompress album RAR FROG …. enjoy

Boxcar – vertigo

Hello and welcome back… Back in the late 80s one of my favorite pastimes was to go visit various record stores around Sydney and suburbs.Strathfield was on the way home and had a great record store in the plaza which is where i came across this album. Basically if you like “New Order” you would like this band.Not sure if i would call it electronic but it is synth based and a great album to dance to.Let loose in 1989 it had the singles “insect”, “gas stop” and “lelore”. My favorite track would be “Freemason” with its pulsating beats and happy synth melody’s … makes me want to dance but i don’t think my hip will let me.. lesson for everyone = ” don’t get old ” haha
 Track listings are =                  1= gas stop
                                                  2 =insect
                                                  3 = vertigo
                                                  4= freemason
                                                  5 = comet
                                                  6 = hit & run
                                                  7 = 900 hours
                                                  8 = lelore ( remix )
                                                  9 = cruel to you
                                                10 = this is the town

Love the start of track 5… funny , click on blue links to watch video and click HERE to download album … enjoy              

download music

Hello again, i have been receiving emails in regards to downloading and listening to related albums featured … I use and recommend = for all my music needs, the music downloads in file format ” rar ” and you will need a program to decode , i use rarfrog and dont forget to cut and paste password ( if any )..  …. remember if you hear the albums and like it please buy the album from itunes or your favorite record store such as jb hifi.. KEEP THE MUSIC ALIVE .. cheers

Pseudo Echo – autumnal park

Welcome back…. another of my favourite bands of the 80s is Pseudo echo, there’s something about certain bands that give them the edge and this is one of them.. heavy use of electric drums and crafty synths make this album stand out… kinda raw sound  before they went commercial and Bryan Canhams smooth vocals are a standout. I have been lucky enough to not only see this amazing band live but to meet bryan and dribble ( kinda like that scene in Wayne’s world when they meet Alice cooper.. we’re not worthy , i’m not worthy, i suck.. haha )
Autumnal park was set free in 1984 and contained  hits like “listening”, “a beat for you” and “destination unknown”.My favourite track has to be “stranger in me”, i love the way the electric drums sound like a whip cracking and lyrics you can sing to.Track list is =

1 = autumnal park

2 = beat for you

3 = see through

4 = from the shore

5 = stranger in me ( live )

6 = dancing until midnight

7 = listening

8 = his eyes ( warning- horror gore )

9 = walkaway

10 = fast cars ( live )

11  = destination unknown

12 = in their time

13 = turning the pages

14 = scripts
The track “his eyes” was used in the movie “Friday the 13th” and the video above has parts of the movie in it… if you don’t like gore don’t click it,.. click HERE to download album… enjoy

Tag Cloud